You are here: About us Commission Members

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

  • English
  • Sinhala
  • Tamil-Sri Lanka

Commission Members

Prof. Kshanika Hirimburegama Prof. SSMK Kshanika Hirimburegama
Senior Professor in Plant Sciences
Phone - Office: +94 11 2696511
Phone - Residence:
Fax: +94 11 2688045

Vice Chairman
Prof_Senaratne Prof. Ranjith Senaratne
Senior Professor in Crop Science, University of Ruhuna
Phone - Office: +94 11 2669653
Phone - Residence: +94 41 2223364, +94 11 22520451
Fax: +94 11 2686041

Commission Member
Prof. Abeygunawardena Prof. H Abeygunawardena
Professor, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine & Animal Science, Univeristy of Peradeniya
Phone - Office: +94 81 2388205
Phone - Residence: +94 81 22232172
Fax: +94 81 2389136

Commission Member
Prof. Mohandas Prof. Subramaniam Mohandas
Professor in Chemistry, University of Jaffna
Phone : +94 77 2614787
Phone - Residence:

Commission Member
Prof. Malkanthi Prof. Malkanthi Chandrasekera
Department of Anatomy, Faculty of Medicine, Univeristy of Peradeniya.
Phone - Office: +94 81 2396260
Phone - Residence: +94 81 2387305
Fax: +94 81 2389106 (Peradeniya)

Commission Member
Nalin-De-Silva Dr. Nalin Kumara de Silva 
Phone - Office: +94 11 2850983

Treasury Representative
 mr Attygalle Mr. SR Attygalle
Deputy Secretary to the Treasury
Phone - Office: +94 11 2484617
Mobile: 077 3862355
Fax: +94 11 2484624

Secretary to the Commission
Dr. Priyantha Premakumara Dr. Priyantha Premakumara
Phone - Office: +94 11 2694093
Fax: +94 11 2688045


News & Events

Featured Content


Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013

Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013  The award ceremony of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund for the Outstanding Postgraduate Research carried out during the period 01 June 2010 to 31 May 2012 in Agriculture, Engineering, Medicine and Natural Sciences disciplines was held on 23 May 2013 in the Board Room of the University Grants Commission. The Award consist of a certificate and cash prize worth of Rs. 200,000/-per discipline. It's a great pleasure for us to congratulate following award winners of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013. Agriculture - Dr. Devika M. De Costa & Mr. UM Aruna Kumara Department of Agricultural Biology Faculty of Agriculture, University of Peradeniya Engineering - Mr. SMKB Samarakoon Department of Computer Engineering Faculty of Engineering, University of Peradeniya Medicine - Ms. NDAD Wijegunawardana Molecular Medicine Unit, Faculty of Medicine, University of Kelaniya Natural Science - Dr. AP Wickramasinghe Faculty of Engineering University of Peradeniya The event was presided by Prof. (Ms.) Kshanika Hirimburegama, Chairperson of the UGC and accompanied by the Prof. Ranjith Senaratne, Vice Chairman of the UGC, Mr. Tissa Nandasena, Secretary of the UGC, Dr. Priyantha Premakumara, Additional Secretary, Academic Affairs & University Admissions, Mr. RAU Ranaweera, Accountant of the UGC, Mr. Eardley Tillekeratne, donor of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund and other UGC officials.  

Special Links


Editors' Login