You are here: About us Commission Members

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Prof. Malik Ranasinghe


Prof. Malik

Professor Ranasinghe is a Senior Professor in Civil Engineering and a former Vice-Chancellor at the University of Moratuwa. He is an International Professional Engineer, Chartered Engineer, Fellow of the Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka, National Academy of Sciences, Sri Lanka and Institute of Project Managers, and a Member of the Sri Lanka Institute of Directors. He is an independent non-executive Director of Sampath Bank PLC, Resus Energy PLC, Access Engineering PLC, Textured Jersey Lanka PLC and United Motors Lanka PLC. He is a former Fellow of the National University of Singapore, and a former non-executive Director of Colombo Stock Exchange, Hemas Power PLC and Lanka IOC PLC.

Prof. Ranasinghe is a civil engineering graduate from the University of Moratuwa, and obtained his MASc and PhD from the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada in civil engineering economics as a Canadian Commonwealth Scholar. His research focus is to combine civil engineering economics and environmental economics with project management. He has published over 120 research publications, of which over 70 are international refereed publications.

Prof. Ranasinghe was honoured with the prestigious Education Leadership Award 2013 in Singapore, Outstanding Contribution to Education Award at the World Education Congress Global Awards 2012 in Mumbai, India, the Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Directors (CVCD) Excellence Award 2012 for the Most Outstanding Senior Researcher in Technology and related Sciences in the Sri Lankan Universities, and the Trinity Prize for Engineering in 2004 for outstanding contributions made to his chosen profession. The University Grants Commission and the Hiran Tillekaratne Research Fund recognised his research with the award for Outstanding Postgraduate Research – 2000 in the academic discipline of Engineering for the period 1975 to 1999. He is the recipient of the prestigious SLAAS General Research Committee award in 1999 for Outstanding Contribution to Sri Lankan Science.



News & Events

Special Notices
Grants & Scholarships

Special Links