You are here: About us Standing Committees

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka


Terms of Reference



  • Initiate actions on policy directions issued by the UGC from time to time and take steps to implement prescribed initiatives, programmes and activities at university/campus/institute level.
  • Evaluate proposals submitted by universities/Institutes with respect to curricular reforms and curriculum for new study programmes and submit recommendations to the Commission.
  • Evaluate proposals submitted by Universities/Institutes for the establishment of new Departments/Faculties/Institutes and submit recommendations to the Commission.
  • Frame guidelines for planning of new undergraduate degree programmes, namely, a) ways and means of evaluating need and demand, b) graduate profile, c) structure of the study programme, d) courses and intended learning outcomes and planning for course modules, e) evaluation procedures and f) credit qualification framework for natural and applied science degree programmes.
  • Function as a catalytic unit to promote new initiatives and reforms to improve and advance quality and relevance of natural and Applied Science Degree programmes and convey to the Commission for consideration.


Members Information


Membership Name Designation Institute
Chairman Prof. R Kumaravadivel Commission Member University Grants Commission
Secretary Mrs. Janadari Wijesinghe Senior Assistant Secretary/Academic Affairs University Grants Commission
Prof. KRR Mahanama Dean/Science University of Colombo
Prof. Anura Wickramasinghe Dean/Science University of Peradeniya
Prof. Sudantha Liyanage Dean/Applied Sciences University of Sri Jayawardenapura
Prof. NAKPJ Seneviratne Dean/Science University of Kelaniya
Prof. S Srisathkunarajah Dean/Science University of Jaffna
Prof. WGD Dharmarathne Dean/Science University of Ruhuna
Prof. Tilak Priyadarshana Dean/Fisheries and Marine Sciences & Technology University of Ruhuna
Dr FC Ragel Dean/Science Eastern University, Sri Lanka
Dr. (Ms.) Sithy S. Iqbal Dean/Faculty of Natural Sciences Open University of Sri Lanka
Dr. BA Karunaratne Dean/Applied Science Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
Dr. Udaya Rathnayaka Dean/Applied Science Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka
Dr. EMP Ekanayake Dean/Applied Science Waymba University of Sri Lanka
Dr. (Mrs.) MIS Safeena Dean/Applied Sciences South Eastern University of Sri Lanka
Dr. Nishantha Attanayake Dean/Sciences & Technology Uva Wellassa University
Dr. RD Gunarathne Department of Chemistry (UGC Nominee) University of Colombo
Dr. S Kuhanesan Actg. Dean/Applied Sciences Vavunia Campus

Special Links


Editors' Login