You are here:

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Presentation made by Chairman, UGC at the General Assembly of the INQAAHE biennial conference in Bahrain on 01st March 2017
Make your ragging complaints online


Terms of Reference


  • Initiate actions on policy directions issued by the UGC from time to time and take steps to implement prescribed initiatives, programmes and activities at university/campus/institute level.
  • Evaluate proposals submitted by universities/Institutes with respect to curricular reforms and curriculum for new study programmes and submit recommendations to the Commission.
  • Evaluate proposals submitted by Universities/Institutes for the establishment of new Departments/Faculties/lnstitutes and submit recommendations to the Commission.
  • Frame guidelines for planning of new undergraduate degree programmes, namely,
  • (a) ways and means of evaluating need and demand,( b) graduate profile, (c) structure of the study programme, (d) courses and intended learning outcomes and planning for course modules, (e) evaluation procedures and (f) credit qualification framework for Information Technology related study programmes.
  • Function as a catalytic unit to promote new initiatives and reforms to improve and advance quality and relevance of Information Technology related study programmes and convey to the Commission for consideration.


Members Information

Membership Name Designation Institute
Chairman Prof. Malik Ranasinghe Commission Member University Grants Commission
Secretary Mrs. Janadari Wijesinghe Senior Assistant Secretary/Academic Affairs University Grants Commission
Prof. GN Wickramanayake Director University of Colombo School of Computing
Prof. AS Karunananda Invitee University of Moratuwa
Dr. NLA Karunartne Vice Chancellor University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Dr. Manjula Sandirigama Head/ Department of Computer Engineering University of Peradeniya
Mr. DK Withanage Dean/Faculty of Information Technology University of Moratuwa
Mr. SAS Lorensuhewa Head/Dept. of Computer Science University of Ruhuna
Dr. S Mahesan Snr.Lecturer/Computer Science, Head/ Computer Centre University of Jaffna
Mr. PD Wimalasiri Head/Computer Unit Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
Dr. AG Johnpillai Head/Mathematics Eastern University, Sri Lanka
Dr. LSK Udugama Dept. of Elect. & Computer Engineering Open University of Sri Lanka
Dr. ANB Attanayake Dean/Science & Technology Uva Wellassa University
Prof. NGJ Dias Head/Department of Statistics & Computer Science University of Kelaniya
Mr. Vasanthapriyan Head, Department of computing & Information Systems Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka
Mr. Ajith Wickramasinghe Head/ Computer Unit University of the Visual & Performing Arts
Mr. Mahesh Perera President Computer Society of Sri Lanka
Dr. Anura Shantha Faculty of Commerce & Management University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Dr. Loshantha Ranathunga University of Moratuwa

News & Events

Special Notices

Grants & Scholarships

Latest Circulars

Special Links


Editors' Login