You are here:

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Presentation made by Chairman, UGC at the General Assembly of the INQAAHE biennial conference in Bahrain on 01st March 2017
Make your ragging complaints online

Agriculture, Veterinary Medicine & Animal Sciences

Terms of Reference


  • Provide directions and guidance on higher education related to Agriculture, Veterinary Medicine and allied fields
  • Review and improve the quality, relevance and standards of degree and postgraduate degree programmes in Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine
  • Evaluate proposals submitted by the Faculties regarding new degree and postgraduate degree programmes related to the said fields and submit recommendations to the Commission
  • Promote relevant research, innovations and out-reach programmes for regional/national development
  • Promote and facilitate the transfer of new technology developed in universities to the community
  • Provide assistance to the Ministry of Agriculture and allied Ministries in formulating national policies and conducting relevant studies
  • Conduct necessary awareness programmes, conferences, seminars etc. to sensitize the general public, policy makers and planners on matters of topical interest in the said fields
  • Promote networking and strategic partnerships between universities and industry

Members Information

Membership Name Designation Institute
Chairman Prof. Hemantha Senanayake Commission Member University Grants Commission
Secretary Ms.Shalika Ariyaratne Senior Assistant Secretary -Academic Affairs University Grants Commission
Prof. HBS Ariyaratne Dean/Vet. Medicine University of Peradeniya
Dr. K. Samarasinghe Dean/Agriculture University of Peradeniya
Prof. Subasinghe Siripala Dean/Agriculture University of Ruhuna
Dr. (Mrs.) S Sivachandran Dean/Agriculture University of Jaffna
Dr. MGTS Amarasekara Dean/Agriculture Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
Dr. P Sivarajan Dean/Agriculture Eastern University, Sri Lanka
Dr. ME Sham Dean/Agriculture Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka
Prof. D P S T G Attanayake Dean/Agri & Plantation Management Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
Dr. M S W De Silva Dean/Livestock Fisheries & Nutrition Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
Dr. (Ms.) SC Jayamanna Dean/Animal Science & Export Agriculture Uva Wellassa University
Dr. Jayantha Athapaththu Director General Department of Agriculture
Dr. DRTG Rathnayake Director General Department of Animal Production & Health
Dr. Athauda Jayewardene Chairman Innovative Pesticides Marketing Pvt Ltd., (IPMP)
Dr. Dan Seevaratnam, Chief Executive Ofiicer Watawala Plantation
Dr. D. Nugawela, Chairman Link Natural Product (Pvt.) Ltd.
Mr. Rizvi Zaheed, Executive Director Hayley Agro Biotech (Pvt) Ltd.
Mr. Mahinda Keerthirathne managing Director Mike Flora Pvt Ltd.
Mr. Sarath Chandra De Silva Chairman IFCO Agri Bio-Tech (Pvt) Ltd.
Mr. Ariyasena Wickramanayake Managing Director Pelawatta Sugar Industries

News & Events

Special Notices

Grants & Scholarships

Latest Circulars

Special Links


Editors' Login