You are here: Policy Commission Circulars Circulars Published in 2007 - [886 - 895] Commission Circular No: 893

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Commission Circular No: 893

23rd August, 2007.


Vice-Chancellors of Universities,
Rectors of Campuses,
Directors of Institutes.



Your attention is drawn to Commission Circular No.696 dated 27th January 1997 on the above subject.

2. The Commission at its 727th meeting decided to substitute para 3 of the Commission Circular No.696 with the following paragraph:

“Governing Authorities are authorized to make their own decisions relating to the design , size, model and the nature of the medal/plaque, provided the cost does not exceed Rs. 1500/-. Please note that the university employees should be given the opportunity to receive Bronze, Silver, Gold plated Medals and Wall Plaque on completion of 25 years ,30 years, 35 years and 40 years of service respectively instead of awarding one medal for their satisfactory continuous service of 25 years or more”.

3. All employees in the University System who have completed a period of satisfactory continuous service of 25 years or more in the Higher Educational Institutions/ Institutes/ Campus/ UGC should be rewarded on the following basis in recognition of their continuous service to the University System.

(a) 25 years of meritorious service Rs.5000/- and a Bronze Medal

(b) 30 years of meritorious service Rs.7500/- and a Silver Medal

(c) 35 years of meritorious service Rs.10000/- and a Gold plated Medal

(d) 40 year of meritorious service Rs. 15000/- and a Wall Plaque

4. The other provisions of the Commission Circular No. 696 will remain unchanged.

5. Please take action accordingly.

(Prof. Gamini Samaranayake)


Copies to:

1. Vice-Chairman/UGC
2. Members of the UGC
3. Secretary/UGC
4. Deans of Faculties
5. Registrars of Universities
6 . Financial Controller/UGC
7 . Bursars of Universities
8 . Librarians/SAL/AL of the Higher Educational Institutions/ Institutes.
9. Deputy Registrars/ Snr. Asst. Registrars/ Asst. Registrars of Campuses/Institutes
10. Deputy Bursars/ Snr. Asst. Bursars/Asst. Bursars of Campuses/Institutes
11. Chief Internal Auditor/UGC
12. Govt. Audit Superintendents of Universities
13. Snr. Asst. Int. Auditors/Asst. Int. Auditors of HEIs
14. Secretaries of Trade Unions
15. Auditor-General


File No: UGC/HR/6/1/16


Featured Content


Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013

Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013  The award ceremony of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund for the Outstanding Postgraduate Research carried out during the period 01 June 2010 to 31 May 2012 in Agriculture, Engineering, Medicine and Natural Sciences disciplines was held on 23 May 2013 in the Board Room of the University Grants Commission. The Award consist of a certificate and cash prize worth of Rs. 200,000/-per discipline. It's a great pleasure for us to congratulate following award winners of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013. Agriculture - Dr. Devika M. De Costa & Mr. UM Aruna Kumara Department of Agricultural Biology Faculty of Agriculture, University of Peradeniya Engineering - Mr. SMKB Samarakoon Department of Computer Engineering Faculty of Engineering, University of Peradeniya Medicine - Ms. NDAD Wijegunawardana Molecular Medicine Unit, Faculty of Medicine, University of Kelaniya Natural Science - Dr. AP Wickramasinghe Faculty of Engineering University of Peradeniya The event was presided by Prof. (Ms.) Kshanika Hirimburegama, Chairperson of the UGC and accompanied by the Prof. Ranjith Senaratne, Vice Chairman of the UGC, Mr. Tissa Nandasena, Secretary of the UGC, Dr. Priyantha Premakumara, Additional Secretary, Academic Affairs & University Admissions, Mr. RAU Ranaweera, Accountant of the UGC, Mr. Eardley Tillekeratne, donor of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund and other UGC officials.  

Special Links


Editors' Login