You are here: Policy Commission Circulars Circulars Published in 2003 - [816 - 837] Commission Circular No: 828

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Commission Circular No: 828

27th May 2003.


Vice-Chancellors of Universities,
Rectors of Campuses,
Directors of Institutes.



This Circular has been modifieded by Circular No : 835

Your kind attention is invited to the Schemes of Recruitment of the following posts sent along with my letter No.UGC/HR/2/3/182 dated 26 th February 1999.

  • Senior Staff Assistant
  • Senior Staff Assistant/Clerical services
  • Senior Staff Assistant/Typing
  • Senior Staff Assistant/Book-Keeping
  • Senior Staff Assistant/Store-keeping
  • Senior Staff Assistant/Shroff Services
  • Senior Staff Assistant/Library Services
  • Senior Staff Assistant/Stenography
  • Technical Officer/Special Grade (Re-designated as Staff Technical Officer- Gr.I)

The University Grants Commission at its 633rd meeting held on 05th May 2003 granted approval to amend the existing schemes of recruitment applicable to the above posts with effect from 01.01.2003 by reducing the period from 10 years to 05 years.

The Commission has further decided that those who have already been promoted to the posts of Senior Staff Assistant, Senior Staff Assistant / Clerical Services / Typing / Book-Keeping / Store-Keeping / Shroff Services / Library Services / Stenography / Technical Officer, Special Grade (re-designated as Staff Technical Officer Grade I) and any employee belonged to the above posts who has served 06 years or more in A-05 grade of the relevant post as at the date 01.01.2003 be granted the benefit referred to in para 2 above with retrospective effect by adjusting the date of promotions and salary, provided they satisfy the requirements applicable for promotion, without payment of arrears for the period up to 31.12.2002.

However, the date of promotion cannot be adjusted beyond 01.01.1995 in view of the fact that the scheme of recruitment applicable to the post of Senior Staff Assistant etc. was implemented with effect from 01.01.1995.

The amended Schemes of Recruitment for the posts of Senior Staff Assistant, Senior Staff Assistant Clerical Services / Typing / Book-Keeping / Store-Keeping / Shroff Services / Library Services / Stenography / Staff Technical Officer Grade I are indicated in the annexed schedules together with the evaluation criteria to be used for the structured interview.

Please take action accordingly.

(Prof. B.R.R.N Mendis- Chairman)


  • Chairman/UGC
  • Vice-Chairman/UGC
  • Members of the UGC
  • Secretary/UGC
  • Deans of Faculties
  • Registrars of Universites
  • Financial Controller/UGC
  • Bursars of Universities
  • Librarians/SAL/AL of the Higher Educational Institutions/Institutes;
  • Snr. Asst.Registrars/Asst.Registrars of HEIs/Campuses
  • Snr. Asst.Bursars/Asst.Bursars of HEIs/Campuses
  • Chief Internal Auditor/UGC
  • Govt. Audit Superintendents of Universities
  • Snr. Asst.Int. Auditors/Asst.Int.Auditors of HEIs
  • Secretaries of Trade Unions
  • Auditor-General

File No. UGC/HR/2/9/86


Featured Content


Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013

Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013  The award ceremony of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund for the Outstanding Postgraduate Research carried out during the period 01 June 2010 to 31 May 2012 in Agriculture, Engineering, Medicine and Natural Sciences disciplines was held on 23 May 2013 in the Board Room of the University Grants Commission. The Award consist of a certificate and cash prize worth of Rs. 200,000/-per discipline. It's a great pleasure for us to congratulate following award winners of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013. Agriculture - Dr. Devika M. De Costa & Mr. UM Aruna Kumara Department of Agricultural Biology Faculty of Agriculture, University of Peradeniya Engineering - Mr. SMKB Samarakoon Department of Computer Engineering Faculty of Engineering, University of Peradeniya Medicine - Ms. NDAD Wijegunawardana Molecular Medicine Unit, Faculty of Medicine, University of Kelaniya Natural Science - Dr. AP Wickramasinghe Faculty of Engineering University of Peradeniya The event was presided by Prof. (Ms.) Kshanika Hirimburegama, Chairperson of the UGC and accompanied by the Prof. Ranjith Senaratne, Vice Chairman of the UGC, Mr. Tissa Nandasena, Secretary of the UGC, Dr. Priyantha Premakumara, Additional Secretary, Academic Affairs & University Admissions, Mr. RAU Ranaweera, Accountant of the UGC, Mr. Eardley Tillekeratne, donor of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund and other UGC officials.  

Special Links


Editors' Login