You are here: Policy Commission Circulars Circulars Published in 2003 - [816 - 837] Commission Circular No: 830

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Commission Circular No: 830

09th September 2003.


Vice-Chancellors of Universities,
Rectors of Campuses,
Directors of Institutes.



Your kind attention is drawn to Commission Circular Nos. 415 dated 29 th January 1990 and 471st dated 09th April 1991 issued in respect to the above matter.

The Commission having considered the existing guidelines in nominating employees to follow courses of study and in paying course fees decided to introduce the following conditions with regard to the payment of course fee in respect of
such employees who have registered to follow various courses of study conducted by the Higher Educational Institutions/Institutes.

  • the employees concerned should be confirmed in their posts.
  • the Course of study should be directly relevant to their duties and a requirement for promotion
  • such employees would be requested to enter into an agreement to serve a certain period depending on the amount of the course fee (The Higher Educational Institutions could adopt a suitable agreement to obtain an undertaking to serve the Institute).
  • to recover the amount of course fee if they fail to complete the course of study successfully and/or fail to serve the Institution the obligatory period of service.
One Administrative / Financial/Executive Officer and two other employees per year may be considered for payment of course fees. But, this number can be increased on the same ratio depending on the monetary allocation made for the payment of course fees.

In view of the above conditions the Commission has further decided to introduce a Marking Scheme to determine the eligibility of employees for payment of the course fee. The copy of the marking scheme to be used for this purpose is annexed.

The provisions of Commission Circular Nos.415 and 471 where they are inconsistent with the provisions of this circular will be rescinded.

The provision of this circular will come into force with effect from 01.06.2003.

(Prof. B.R.R.N Mendis- Chairman)


  • Chairman/UGC
  • Vice-Chairman/UGC
  • Members of the UGC
  • Secretary/UGC
  • Deans of Faculties
  • Registrars of Universites
  • Financial Controller/UGC
  • Bursars of Universities
  • Librarians/SAL/AL of the Higher Educational Institutions/Institutes;
  • Snr. Asst.Registrars/Asst.Registrars of HEIs/Campuses
  • Snr. Asst.Bursars/Asst.Bursars of HEIs/Campuses
  • Chief Internal Auditor/UGC
  • Govt. Audit Superintendents of Universities
  • Snr. Asst.Int. Auditors/Asst.Int.Auditors of HEIs
  • Secretaries of Trade Unions
  • Auditor-General

File No. UGC/HR/2/9/86


Featured Content


Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013

Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013  The award ceremony of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund for the Outstanding Postgraduate Research carried out during the period 01 June 2010 to 31 May 2012 in Agriculture, Engineering, Medicine and Natural Sciences disciplines was held on 23 May 2013 in the Board Room of the University Grants Commission. The Award consist of a certificate and cash prize worth of Rs. 200,000/-per discipline. It's a great pleasure for us to congratulate following award winners of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013. Agriculture - Dr. Devika M. De Costa & Mr. UM Aruna Kumara Department of Agricultural Biology Faculty of Agriculture, University of Peradeniya Engineering - Mr. SMKB Samarakoon Department of Computer Engineering Faculty of Engineering, University of Peradeniya Medicine - Ms. NDAD Wijegunawardana Molecular Medicine Unit, Faculty of Medicine, University of Kelaniya Natural Science - Dr. AP Wickramasinghe Faculty of Engineering University of Peradeniya The event was presided by Prof. (Ms.) Kshanika Hirimburegama, Chairperson of the UGC and accompanied by the Prof. Ranjith Senaratne, Vice Chairman of the UGC, Mr. Tissa Nandasena, Secretary of the UGC, Dr. Priyantha Premakumara, Additional Secretary, Academic Affairs & University Admissions, Mr. RAU Ranaweera, Accountant of the UGC, Mr. Eardley Tillekeratne, donor of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund and other UGC officials.  

Special Links


Editors' Login