You are here:

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Indigenous Medicine

Terms of Reference




The Standing Committee on Indigenous Medicine at its 37th Meeting held on 04th March 2013 having discussed the Terms and References of the Standing Committee and recommended the same for the approval of the Commission.


To provide a consultative forum that can effectively address issues of learning, teaching, research and staffing in Indigenous medicine in Universities /institutes on Sri Lanka at Undergraduate and postgraduate levels


The functions of the Standing Committee on Indigenous medicine are.

  1. To assist in the formulation and dissemination of policies, practices and procedures and to initiate actions on policy directions issued by the UGC from time to time and take steps to implement prescribed initiatives, Programmes and activities at Institute, Department and Unit level.
  2. To evaluate proposals submitted by institutes, Departments and units teaching Indigenous medicine with respect to curricular reforms and curriculum for new study Programmes and submit recommendations to the Commission.
  3. To propose timely changes in curriculum, evaluation and revision in indigenous medicine study programs.
  4. To encourage creation and dissemination of avenues for research and publication.
  5. To promote research, innovations and outreach Programmes for regional/ national development.
  6. To promote and facilitate the transfer of new knowledge and technology developed in HEIs to the community.
  7. To promote networking and strategic partnerships between HEIs, treatment centers, industry and private sector.
  8. To evaluate proposals submitted by Institutes for the establishment of new Departments/ units and submit recommendations to the Commission.
  9. To function as a catalytic unit to promote new initiatives and reforms to improve and advance quality and relevance of teaching/learning/research both undergraduate and post graduate Degree Programmes on Indigenous medicine and convey to the Commission for consideration


Members Information

Membership Name Designation University/HEI
Chairman Dr.Ruvaiz Haniffa Commission Member University Grants Commission
Secretary Mrs. Janadari Wijesinghe Senior Assistant Secretary/Academic Affairs University Grants Commission
Dr. Happuarachchi Director ,Institute of Indigenous Medicine Institute of Indigenous Medicine
Dr. M. I. Manuha Head/Unani Section Institute of Indigenous Medicine Institute of Indigenous Medicine
Dr.Vivian Head/ Siddha Medicine Unit University of Jaffna
Dr. Senaka Pilapitiya Director Gampaha Wickramarachchi Ayurveda Institute
Dr. (Mrs.) V. Paheerathan Head/ Siddha Medicine Unit/Trincomalee Campus Eastern University, Sri Lanka
Mrs. M.D.M.D.Karunathilaka Ayurveda Commissioner, Department of Ayurveda Department of Ayurveda
Mr. L. H. Thilakaratne Aditional Secretary (Development)/Indigenous Medicine Sector Ministry of Higher Education & Highways
Mrs.Swarna Kaluthotage Director/ Bandaranaike Memorial Ayurvedic Research Institute Department of Ayurveda
Dr. Ratnasabapathy Ponnaiah Ponnaiah Medical Hall Thinnavely East Jaffna University of Jaffna
Prof. S.G.Ranasinghe Former Director/IIM Institute of Indigenous Medicine
Prof. Wasantha Gunathunga Professor in Community Medicine Head/Department of Community Medicine
Dr. K.A.N.P Banagala Ayurvedic Doctor Paramparika – Sinhala
Dr. J.C.K.D.Kumarasekara Director/Ayurveda Teaching Hospital
Dr. T. Weerarathna Deputy Director/Indeginous Medicine Section Ministry of Higher Education & Highways

Special Links