You are here:

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

Management Studies

 Terms of Reference

The UGC, empowered by Section 4(2) of the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978, as and when required appoints Standing Committees for specific purposes, consisting of such members and with such powers, duties and functions as may be determined by the Commission. The Chairman of each Standing Committee shall be a member of the Commission.

The specific functions of the Standing Committee on Management Studies are;

  • Initiate actions on policy directions issued by the UGC from time to time and take steps to implement prescribed initiatives, programmes and activities at university/campus/institute level.
  • Evaluate proposals submitted by Universities/Institutes with respect to curricular reforms and curriculum for new study programmes and submit recommendations to the Commission.
  • Evaluate proposals submitted by Universities/Institutes for the establishment of new Departments/Faculties/Institutes and submit recommendations to the Commission.
  • Frame guidelines for planning of new undergraduate degree programmes, namely, a) ways and means of evaluating need and demand, b) qualification descriptors specific to the degree programme, c) graduate profile, d) structure of the study programme, e) credit & qualification framework for Commerce, Management, Business and allied studies degree programmes, f) intended learning outcome of the degree programme, g) intended learning outcome of courses and modules, and h) assessment procedures, and
  • Function as a catalytic unit to promote new initiatives and reforms to improve and advance quality and relevance of Commerce, Management, Business and allied studies Degree programmes and convey to the Commission for consideration.

 Members Information


Membership Name Designation Institute
Chairman Prof. Malik Ranasinghe Chairman/Standing Committee on Management Studies  University Grants Commiss ion
Secretary Mrs. Thilini Jayathilake  Assistant Secretary/Academic Affairs University Grants Commission
Dr. U Anura Kumara Dean/Management Studies & Commerce/ University of Sri Jayewardenepura University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Dr. R Senathiraja Dean/ Management & Finance / University of Colombo University of Colombo
Dr. PND Fernando Dean/Commerce & Management Studies / University of Kelaniya University of Kelaniya
Dr. TSLW Gunawardana Dean/ Management & Finance/University of Ruhuna University of Ruhuna
Prof. T. Velnampy Dean/ Management Studies & Commerce / University of Jaffna University of Jaffna
Mrs. V R Ragel Dean/Commerce & Management Studies / Eastern University of Sri lanka Eastern University of Sri lanka
Dr. S Gunapalan Dean/Management & Commerce / South Eastern University of Sri lanka South Eastern University of Sri lanka
Dr. KGA Udayakumara Dean/ Management Studies /Rajarata University of Sri Lanka Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
Dr. Wasantha Rathnayake Dean/Management Studies / Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka
Dr. RA Rathnasiri Dean/Business Studies & Finance / Wayamba University of Sri Lanka Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
Mr. GH Abeyweera Dean/Management /Uwa Wellassa University Uwa Wellassa University
Dr. A. Pushpanathan Dean/Business Studies / Vavuniya Campus Vavuniya Campus
Mrs. Kumuthinidevi Santhrakumar Dean/Communication & Business Studies / Trincomalee Campus Trincomalee Campus
Prof. Milton Rajaratne Dean /Management / University of Peradeniya University of Peradeniya
Mr. T. Dharmarajah Director/Management Applications Pvt. Ltd.
Mr. Ruwan Keragala Finance Director/MAS Intimates Pvt. Ltd.
Mr. Chandrasena Maliyadde Vice President/Sri Lanka Economic Association
Prof. N D Gunawardene Dean/ Faculty of Business/ University of Moratuwa University of Moratuwa
Dr. V Sivalogathasan Head, Department of Management Studies The Open University of Sri Lanka

Special Links