

# ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තුික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

# ాది లెందజ్ The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2312/38 - 2022 දෙසැම්බර් මස 29 වැනි බුහස්පතින්දා - 2022.12.29 No. 2312/38 - THURSDAY, DECEMBER 29, 2022

(Published by Authority)

## PART I: SECTION (I) — GENERAL

### **Government Notifications**

L.D.B. -21/78(XVI)B

#### THE UNIVERSITIES ACT, No. 16 OF 1978

ORDINANCE made by the University Grants Commission under Section 18 of the Universities Act, No. 16 of 1978.

Actg. Secretary, University Grants Commission.

Colombo, 12th December, 2022.

#### **Ordinance**

- 1. This Ordinance may be cited as the Postgraduate Institute of Medicine (Amendment) Ordinance, No. 01 of 2022 and shall come into operation on the date of its' publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. The Postgraduate Institute of Medicine Ordinance No. 01 of 1980, published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 83/7 of April 10, 1980 as last amendment by the Ordinance published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 2115/45 of March 22, 2019 is hereby further amendment as follows:



- (1) in paragraph 10 thereof, by the addition immediately after item (1)(a)(vi), of the following new item :-
  - "(vii) the Deputy Director General of Medical Services of the Ministry of the Minister assigned the subject of Health.";
- (2) in paragraph 13 thereof -
  - (i) by the repeal of item (v) of sub paragraph (1) thereof, and by the substitution therefor of the following:"(v) Basic Medical Sciences;";
  - (ii) by the repeal of item (aj) of sub paragraph (1) thereof, and by the substitution therefor of the following:"(aj) Sports and Exercise Medicine";
  - (iii) by the addition immediately after item (ak) of sub paragraph (1) thereof, of the following new item :-
    - "(a) Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.".
- (3) in paragraph 14 thereof -
  - (i) by the repeal of sub-paragraph (3A) thereof and the substitution therefor of the following:-
    - "(3A) Where the Board of Study has been established in respect of the specialty of Dental Surgery, such Board of Study shall consist of the following persons:-
      - (a) Director
    - (b) Deputy Director;
    - (c) a Senior Professor, Professor (Chair), Professor, Associate Professor, Head or Senior Lecturer of the Department or the Division of the following disciplines nominated by the Deans of Faculties of Dental Sciences of Universities established under the Act, on the recommendation of the relevant Department or Division of Study:-
      - (i) Restorative Dentistry;
      - (ii) Prosthetic Dentistry;
      - (iii) Periodontology;
      - (iv) Orthodontics;
      - (v) Paedodontics;
      - (vi) Community Dentistry;
      - (vii) Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery;
      - (viii) Oral Medicine;
      - (ix) Oral Pathology;
      - (x) Basic Sciences.
    - (d) ten specialists to be nominated by the Director General from among the consultants in the Ministry of Health of whom -
      - (i) four specialists shall be from the National Dental Hospital, Colombo group of Hospitals representing one each from specialities of Orthodontics, Restorative Dentistry, Oral Pathology and Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery;
      - (ii) four specialists (two each from specialists of Orthodontics and Restorative Dentistry) from the Teaching Hospitals;

- (iii) two specialists (one each from Orthodontics and Restorative Dentistry) from the General Hospital;
- (e) three specialists (one each from Orthodontics, Restorative Dentistry and Oral Pathology) who are trainers from the College of Dentistry and Stomatology of Sri Lanka. In an event of no eligible member for nomination from any of the above three specialties, the College may nominate the next eligible member from any of the three specialties among Orthodontics, Restorative Dentistry or Oral Pathology.
- (f) one member from the College of General Dental Practitioners, Sri Lanka";
- (iii) by the insertion immediately after sub paragraph (3D) thereof, of the following new sub paragraph:-
  - "(3E) The Board shall establish a Board of Study in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery which shall consist of the following persons:-
    - (a) Director;
    - (b) Deputy Director;
    - (c) a Senior Professor, Professor (Chair), Professor, Associate Professor, Head or Senior Lecturer of the following disciplines nominated by the Deans of Faculties of Dental Sciences of Universities established under the Act, on the recommendation of the relevant Department or Division of Study:-
      - (i) one member from the discipline of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery;
      - (ii) one member from the discipline of Oral Medicine;
  - (d) eight specialists to be nominated by the Director General from among the consultants of the Ministry of Health;
    - (i) two Consultant Oral and Maxillofacial surgeons from specialized hospitals;
    - (ii) three Consultant Oral and Maxillofacial surgeons from National Hospitals, Teaching Hospitals or Provincial General Hospitals;
    - (iii) two Consultant Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons from District General Hospitals or Base Hospitals Category (A);
    - (iv) one Consultant Cancer Surgeon from Cancer Institute Maharagama;
  - (e) two specialists in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery nominated by the College of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons of Sri Lanka (one member should be attached to a University and the other member should not be attached to a University)
  - (f) members from Boards of Study;
    - (i) one member appointed by the Board of Study in Surgery;
    - (ii) one member appointed by the Board of Study in Medicine;
    - (iii) one member appointed by the Board of Study in Anesthesiology;
    - (v) one member appointed by the Board of Study in Dental Surgery;

- (4) in paragraph 15 thereof, by the repeal of sub paragraph (3)(b) and the substitution therefor of the following:-
  - "(b) Where a Specialty Board has been established in respect of a general or sub-specialty in which instruction, education, training and evaluation are carried out under the general direction of a relevant Board of Study, such Specialty Board shall consist of the following persons:-
    - (i) Director;
    - (ii) Deputy Director;
    - (iii) ten other members appointed as follows:
      - (a) up to four members from the Ministry of Health representing training centers;
      - (b) three members from the Universities established under the Universities Act;
      - (c) one member from the respective professional body, in active service in the public sector;
      - (d) two members being experts, in the field relevant to the specialty;
  - (ba) (i) in the event of non-availability of eligible members under item (b)(iii)(a) or (b)(iii)(c), these positions shall be filled by experts in the field relevant to the specialty;
  - (bb) a maximum of two members out of the ten members specified above, may be non-medical or non-dental subjects experts;
  - (bc) one member appointed under item (b)(iii)(d) or sub paragraph (ba) shall be from medical or dental specialists who represents the private sector and;
  - (bd) nominations for items (b)(iii)(a), (b)(iii)(b), (b)(iii)(c) and sub paragraph (ba) shall be made by the Board of Study, and nominations for item (b)(iii)(d) shall be made by the Board of Management.".
- (5) In Paragraph 25 thereof, by the substitution for the words "Basic and Medical Sciences", "Sports Medicine", and "Orthopedic Surgery or any other specialty" in the definition of the expression "Specialty in Medicine" of the words "Basic Medical Sciences", "Sport and Exercise Medicine" and "Orthopedic Surgery, Oral and Maxilloficial Surgery or any other specialty".

EOG 12 - 0380