

# ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

## The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2281/33 - 2022 මැයි මස 27 වැනි සිකුරාදා - 2022.05.27 No. 2281/33 - FRIDAY, MAY 27, 2022

(Published by Authority)

### PART I: SECTION (I) — GENERAL

#### **Government Notifications**

L.D.B 21/78 (XVI) (B)

#### THE UNIVERSITIES ACT, No. 16 OF 1978

ORDINANCE made by the University Grants Commission under Section 18 of the Universities Act, No. 16 of 1978.

Secretary, University Grants Commission.

Colombo, 24th May, 2022.

#### **Ordinance**

The University of Colombo, Institute for Agro Technology and Rural Sciences Ordinance, No. 2 of 2008. published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 1571/15 of October 16, 2008 is hereby amended as follows:-

(1). By the repeal of sub paragraph (1) of paragraph 8 thereof and the substitution therefor the following:-



- "(1) The Director shall be the principal executive officer and the principal academic officer of the Institute. He shall be an ex-officio member of the Board, the Academic Syndicate and all Boards of Study of the Institute. The Director shall, in addition to his own vote at any meeting of the Board, the Academic Syndicate and the Boards of Study of the Institute, have a casting vote. He shall be entitled to be present and speak at any meeting of any other Authority or Body of the Institute but shall not be entitled to vote at any such meeting unless he is a member of such Authority or Body.";
- (2). by the repeal of paragraph 10 thereof and the substitution therefor of the following:-
  - "10. The Board shall be the academic and executive body of the Institute and shall consist of -
    - (1). ex-officio members, namely:-
      - (a) the Director, who shall be the Chairperson;
      - (b) the Deputy Director;
      - (c) the Secretary to the Ministry of the Minister assigned the subject of Higher Education or his nominee;
      - (d) the Secretary to the Ministry of the Minister assigned the subject of Agriculture or his nominee;
      - (e) the Secretary to the Ministry of the Minister assigned the subject of Finance or his nominee;
      - (f) the Dean of the Faculty of Science of the University;
      - (g) the Dean of the Faculty of Technology of the University;
      - (h) the Heads of the Departments of Study of the Institute;
      - (i) the Head of the Department of Plant Sciences of the Faculty of Science of the University or his nominee with the concurrence of the Vice-Chancellor; and
    - (2) other members, namely:-
      - (a) two members appointed by the Commission to represent the Agro-Technology and Agribusiness Industries:
      - (b) two members appointed by the council from among its members;
      - (c) the District Secretary of the Hambantota District or his nominee;
      - (d) one member appointed by the Academic Syndicate from amongst its members; and
      - (e) two agricultural experts appointed by the Council, on the recommendation of the Vice Chancellor.";
- (3) by the repeal of paragraph 16 thereof and the substitution therefor of the following:-
  - "16. The Board of study in respect of Research and Higher Degrees shall consist of -
    - (a) the Director who shall be the Chairperson;
    - (b) the Head of each Department of Study;
    - (c) the Co-ordinators of each Centre or their nominees;
    - (d) one representative nominated by each Department of Study and one representative nominated by each Centre engaged in Research and Development or Postgraduate Teaching;
    - (e) the members appointed by the Academic Syndicate to co-ordinate each identified programme;
    - (f) the Head of the Department of Plant Sciences of the Faculty of Science of the University or another teacher of that Department who shall be nominated by the Vice Chancellor; and
    - (g) the Head of the Department of Agricultural Technology of the Faculty of Technology of the University or another teacher of that Department who shall be nominated by the Vice Chancellor."

EOG 05 - 0134