You are here: University Admissions

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

  • English
  • Sinhala
  • Tamil-Sri Lanka

University Admissions

The University system in Sri Lanka operates within the framework laid down by the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978. Selection of students for admission to undergraduate courses in universities is assigned to the University Grants Commission (UGC) under the above Act. Accordingly, at present the UGC selects students for admission to undergraduate courses for 14 National universities and 4 institutes, which have been set up under the Universities Act.

In addition to admission of students with local qualifications, special provisions have been made for admission of a limited number of students with foreign qualifications also to follow undergraduate courses of study leading to bachelor’s degrees, annually.

This page provides information on University Admission Policy, Courses of Study, and the Number of places available in Universities under each course of study, the subject combination available in each University under different courses of study, and the minimum marks required for admission to various courses in respect of each administrative district.

Contact Admissions

Email to