You are here: About us Standing Committees

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

  • English
  • Sinhala
  • Tamil-Sri Lanka

Agriculture, Veterinary Medicine & Animal Sciences

Terms of Reference


  • Provide directions and guidance on higher education related to Agriculture, Veterinary Medicine and allied fields
  • Review and improve the quality, relevance and standards of degree and postgraduate degree programmes in Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine
  • Evaluate proposals submitted by the Faculties regarding new degree and postgraduate degree programmes related to the said fields and submit recommendations to the Commission
  • Promote relevant research, innovations and out-reach programmes for regional/national development
  • Promote and facilitate the transfer of new technology developed in universities to the community
  • Provide assistance to the Ministry of Agriculture and allied Ministries in formulating national policies and conducting relevant studies
  • Conduct necessary awareness programmes, conferences, seminars etc. to sensitize the general public, policy makers and planners on matters of topical interest in the said fields
  • Promote networking and strategic partnerships between universities and industry

Members Information

Membership Name Designation Institute
Chairman  Prof. Vasanthy Arasaratnam Commission Member Department of Biochemistry, Faculty of Medicine, University of Jaffna, Kokuvil
Secretary Ms. M.P.K. Senadeera Assistant Secretary -Academic Affairs University Grants Commission
Dr. D.M.S. Munasinghe Dean/Vet. Medicine University of Peradeniya
Prof. Gamini Pushpakumara Dean/Agriculture University of Peradeniya
Prof. Sudas D. Wanniarachchi Dean/Agriculture University of Ruhuna
Dr. K. Sooriyakumar Dean/Agriculture University of Jaffna
Dr. A.M.J.B. Adikari Dean/Agriculture Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
Dr. M. Pagthinathan Dean/Agriculture Eastern University, Sri Lanka
Dr. Manjula Magamage Dean/Agriculture Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka
Prof.J.C. Edirisinghe Dean/Agri & Plantation Management Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
Prof. Mrs .C.V.L. Jayasinghe Dean/Livestock Fisheries & Nutrition Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
Prof. H.M.S.K. Herath Dean/Animal Science & Export Agriculture Uva Wellassa University
Dr. Rohan Wijekoon Director General Department of Agriculture
Dr. K.D. Ariyapala Director General Department of Animal Production & Health
Dr. Athauda Jayawardena Chairman Innovative Pesticides Marketing Pvt Ltd., (IPMP)
Mr. Roshan Rajadurai The Planters' Association of Ceylon
Mr. Rizvi Zaheed Managing Director Hayleys Agriculture Holdings Ltd.
Mr. Mihindu Keerthirathne Managing Director Mike Flora Pvt Ltd.
Mr. Sarath Chandra De Silva Chairman IFCO Agri. Bio-Tech (Pvt.) Ltd
Mr. Ariyaseela Wickramanayake Managing Director Palawatta Sugar Industries
Prof. C.M.B. Dematawewa Director Postgraduate Institute of Agriculture
Prof. Nirmalie Pallewatta (Observer) Director/ IQAU University of Colombo