You are here: News and Events

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

  • English
  • Sinhala
  • Tamil-Sri Lanka


New Secretary for the UGC

Dr. Priyantha Premakumara assumed duties as the Secretary of the University Grants Commission on 10th November 2014. Chairperson of the UGC, other high ranking officials and the staff of the UGC took part in the occasion.

Dr. Premakumara joined the UGC in April 1999 as an Assistant Secretary and was promoted to the post of Senior Assistant Secretary in January 2005. Then he was promoted to the post of Additional Secretary of Academic Affairs and University Admissions in October 2010. Dr. Premakumara was appointed as the Additional Secretary of the Human Resources in September 2011 and remained in both positions until he became the Secretary of the UGC.

We extend sincere best wishes to him for continued success and happiness in all his future endeavors.


Sri Lankan Medicinal Plants Development and Conservation Project - Planting of Medicinal Crops - 17.09.2020

With the participation of Chairman, Vice Chairperson, Secretary, and other staff of the UGC, an event of planting medicinal crops was taken place at the University Grants Commission premises on 17.09.2020 commemorating the 156th birth anniversary of Honorable Anagarika Dharmapala in line with the initiative taken by the State Ministry of Indigenous Medicine Promotion, Rural and Ayurvedic Hospitals Development & Community Health.


Specimen form for Special Intake 2022/2023



Members of the University Councils

Eastern University, Sri Lanka

Name Qualification & Position
His Excellency Archbishop Joseph Ponniah Archbishop of Batticaloa
Mr. S M Hussain Provincial Agriculture Director, Eastern – To assist Agriculture Faculty in providing on-farm training etc.
Professor G F Rajendram Former Vice-Chancellor, Eastern University, Sri Lanka (1995-1998)
Mr. M K Perinparaja Attorney-at-Law of Supreme Court of Sri Lanka, Notary Public & Commissioner of Oaths.
Dr. K Murugananthan Provincial Health Services Director– Eastern Province
Dr. M S Ibralebbe Director, Teaching Hospital – Batticaloa. Directly involved in providing clinical training to medical students of the Batticloa medical faculty
Mr. Manickam Uthayakumar Commissioner/ Municipal Council, Batticaloa
Mr. Anura Dissanayake Former Secretary, Ministry of Education, Addl Sec, Ministry of Education, Consultant, Transaction Manager, PERC
Mrs. P S M Charles District Secretary/ Government Agent - Batticaloa
Professor Uma Coomaraswamy Former Vice-Chancellor, The Open University of Sri Lanka
Mr. P A Hassan Fellow Institute of Financial Accounts (UK), MBA (UK), MPA (SJP). Presently the Director, TAIBAH Marketing (pvt) Ltd. SL. Also Director, Ampara District Chamber of Commerce & Industry.
Professor S Maunaguru Retired Professor of Fine Arts, Eastern University, Sri Lanka


Harmony Centers in Universities

UGC as the apex body of the university education spearheads reconciliation efforts of the university communities to strengthen the Sri Lankan spirit and contribute to the nation's stability.  As an initiative, an Advisory Committee and a Steering Committee are to be established on “University Harmony”.  The Advisory Committee is to provide the strategic directions by developing policies and guidelines, advice the management in universities/HEIs and to provide assistance to ensure resources for creation of University Harmony Centers. 

The Advisory Committee will be Chaired by Prof. Kshanika Hirimburegama, Chairperson of the UGC.  The other members of the Committee are Prof. Ranjith Senarathne (Vice Chairman of the UGC), Chairman of the Committee of the Vice Chancellors and Directors, Vice Chancellors of University of Jaffna, Eastern University and South Eastern University of Sri Lanka, Prof. C. G. Weeramanthry, Prof. Rohan Gunaratna, Attorney General (or a nominee), Inspector General of Police and Commander of the Sri Lanka Army. The Steering Committee on Harmony will carry out the Harmony Centre initiatives based on the Advisory Committee guidelines. The Steering Committee is consisted of Prof. Ranjith Senarathne (Chairman of the Committee), Vice Chancellors, Student Counselors of Universities and Ms Nirekha De Silva. While the UGC Advisory Committee and Steering Committee will guide the strategic directions on reconciliation and harmony efforts, the Harmony Centers are to be created in each university to implement relevant strategies at institutional level.  Further, University Advisory Committees and University Steering Committees are also to be established at university level to strengthen and support the activities of the “Harmony Centers”. 

Page 7 of 8

News & Events

Special Notices

Grants & Scholarships