You are here: News and Events

University Grants Commission - Sri Lanka

  • English
  • Sinhala
  • Tamil-Sri Lanka


Harmony Centers in Universities

UGC as the apex body of the university education spearheads reconciliation efforts of the university communities to strengthen the Sri Lankan spirit and contribute to the nation's stability.  As an initiative, an Advisory Committee and a Steering Committee are to be established on “University Harmony”.  The Advisory Committee is to provide the strategic directions by developing policies and guidelines, advice the management in universities/HEIs and to provide assistance to ensure resources for creation of University Harmony Centers. 

The Advisory Committee will be Chaired by Prof. Kshanika Hirimburegama, Chairperson of the UGC.  The other members of the Committee are Prof. Ranjith Senarathne (Vice Chairman of the UGC), Chairman of the Committee of the Vice Chancellors and Directors, Vice Chancellors of University of Jaffna, Eastern University and South Eastern University of Sri Lanka, Prof. C. G. Weeramanthry, Prof. Rohan Gunaratna, Attorney General (or a nominee), Inspector General of Police and Commander of the Sri Lanka Army. The Steering Committee on Harmony will carry out the Harmony Centre initiatives based on the Advisory Committee guidelines. The Steering Committee is consisted of Prof. Ranjith Senarathne (Chairman of the Committee), Vice Chancellors, Student Counselors of Universities and Ms Nirekha De Silva. While the UGC Advisory Committee and Steering Committee will guide the strategic directions on reconciliation and harmony efforts, the Harmony Centers are to be created in each university to implement relevant strategies at institutional level.  Further, University Advisory Committees and University Steering Committees are also to be established at university level to strengthen and support the activities of the “Harmony Centers”. 


Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013

Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013

 The award ceremony of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund for the Outstanding Postgraduate Research carried out during the period 01 June 2010 to 31 May 2012 in Agriculture, Engineering, Medicine and Natural Sciences disciplines was held on 23 May 2013 in the Board Room of the University Grants Commission. The Award consist of a certificate and cash prize worth of Rs. 200,000/-per discipline. It's a great pleasure for us to congratulate following award winners of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund 2013.



Dr. Devika M. De Costa & Mr. UM Aruna Kumara Department of Agricultural Biology Faculty of Agriculture, University of Peradeniya



Mr. SMKB Samarakoon Department of Computer Engineering Faculty of Engineering, University of Peradeniya



Ms. NDAD Wijegunawardana Molecular Medicine Unit, Faculty of Medicine, University of Kelaniya

Natural Science


Dr. AP Wickramasinghe Faculty of Engineering University of Peradeniya

The event was presided by Prof. (Ms.) Kshanika Hirimburegama, Chairperson of the UGC and accompanied by the Prof. Ranjith Senaratne, Vice Chairman of the UGC, Mr. Tissa Nandasena, Secretary of the UGC, Dr. Priyantha Premakumara, Additional Secretary, Academic Affairs & University Admissions, Mr. RAU Ranaweera, Accountant of the UGC, Mr. Eardley Tillekeratne, donor of the Hiran Tillekeratne Research Fund and other UGC officials.



First Lady Chairperson of the University Grants Commission of Sri Lanka



It is our great pleasure to welcome Senior Professor (Mrs) Kshanika Hirimburegama as the first lady Chairperson of the University Grants Commission.  

Professor Kshanika Hirimburegama, B.Sc. (Colombo);  M.Phil.  (Peradeniya); Ph.D. (K.U. Leuven); a Senior Professor in Plant Sciences was appointed as the Chairperson of the University Grants Commission with effect from  1st February 2013 by His Excellency, the President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.

She was the Vice Chancellor of the University of Colombo from January 2008 to January 2013. She was a Member of the University Grants Commission from March 2006 to December 2008 .

Professor Hirimburegama has rendered a great service to the farming community and taken lead to transfer the technology to the rural agricultural sector apart from the contribution made to the Higher Education sector in the Country. She is the founder of the Institute of Agro Technology and Rural Science, Hambantota.

We wish her all the very best in her new appointment as the Chairperson of the University Grants Commission.



Page 8 of 8

News & Events

Special Notices

Grants & Scholarships